Wednesday, August 17, 2011

Never Have I Ever (The Lying Game #2)

Title: Never Have I Ever (The Lying Game #2)
Author: Sara Shepard
Rating: 4.5/5
SummaryMy perfect life was a lie. 
Now I’d do anything to uncover the truth.
Not long ago, I had everything a girl could wish for: amazing friends, an adorable boyfriend, a loving family. But none of them know that I’m gone—that I’m dead. To solve my murder, my long-lost twin sister, Emma, has taken my place. She sleeps in my room, wears my clothes, and calls my parents Mom and Dad.
And my killer is watching her every move.
I remember little from my life, just flashes and flickers, so all I can do is follow along as Emma tries to solve the mystery of my disappearance. But the deeper she digs, the more suspects she uncovers. It turns out my friends and I played a lot of games—games that ruined people’s lives. Anyone could want revenge... anyone could want me—and now Emma—dead. 
My Thoughts: This sequel to Shepard's The Lying Game packs a serious punch. Emma is still pretending to be her long lost (deceased) twin sister Sutton, and she's getting rather good at living the lie. It was fun to "watch" Emma further settle into Sutton's day to day routines... all the while keeping a lookout for her sister's killer. The plot of Never Have I Ever was much more fluid and fast moving than its predecessor, and Sutton's narration remains fresh and interesting. I also appreciate that Shepard made many of the supporting characters much more approachable and endearing this time around. These improvements as well as the book's cliffhanger ending make number three in this series an absolute must read! 

No comments:

Post a Comment